Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 24, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

43 countries to compete in Eurovision 2016!

43 countries to compete in Eurovision 2016!
Alvaro Sanabria


The EBU has announced that 43 countries are confirmed to participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2016 to take place in Stockholm on May 10, 12, and 14 2016.

This will equal the record participation number of the 2008 and 2011 contests.


Countries return

Ukraine will return after withdrawing in 2015.  Bosnia and Herzegovina will come back after three years of absence.  Both Ukraine and Bosnia Herzegovina have a 100% qualification record to the Grand Final.

Croatia and Bulgaria will also return since their last participation in 2013.  Bulgaria hosted the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2015.

Another highlight is the return of Australia.  Although the EBU initially stated that Australian participation was a “one-off event” and that the country would only return if they had won the contest, the country has been allowed to participate in the contest again with an explanation of the “positive reaction” to their candidate in Vienna.  Nevertheless, Australia will have to go to the semi-finals unlike their previous participation.


The contestants

The following countries will participate in the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest:

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (SBS)
  • Austria (ORF)
  • Azerbaijan (İTV)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Belgium (VRT)
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina (BHRT)
  • Bulgaria (BNT)
  • Croatia (HRT)
  • Cyprus (CyBC)
  • Czech Republic (ČT)
  • Denmark (DR)
  • Estonia (ERR)
  • Finland (YLE)
  • France (France Télévisions)
  • Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Germany (NDR)
  • Greece (ERT)
  • Hungary (MTVA)
  • Iceland (RÚV)
  • Ireland (RTÉ)
  • Israel (IBA)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Latvia (LTV)
  • Lithuania (LRT)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • Montenegro (RTCG)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Romania (TVR)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • San Marino (SMRTV)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Spain (TVE)
  • Sweden (SVT)
  • Switzerland (SRG SSR)
  • Ukraine (NTU)
  • United Kingdom (BBC)

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!