Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 22, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

BBC confirms Eurovision 60th anniversary event!

BBC confirms Eurovision 60th anniversary event!
Iain Cameron

BBC, the United Kingdom’s national broadcaster, has confirmed today that they will produce a special event to mark the 60th anniversary of the Eurovision Song Contest!

Graham Norton (the UK’s commentator since 2009) and Petra Mede (who hosted the 2013 contest in Malmö, Sweden) will host ‘Eurovision Song Contest’s Greatest Hits’ in the Eventim Apollo Hammersmith on March 31. The one-off show will include a range of performances, both old and new, to celebrate the 60 years of European music history.

Graham spoke of his fondness for the contest, “I love Eurovision and am honoured to be co-hosting this special show. I cannot think of a better way to celebrate 60 years of the greatest song contest in the world!”

Petra had kind words to say not only about the contest but of Graham too, “I am so looking forward to participating in this concert, this true celebration of a contest that has been a part of, not only my, but so many people’s lives. And it is an honour to co-host the show with Graham, who is fast becoming a Eurovision legend himself.”

Confirmed acts so far are reigning champion, Conchita WurstEmmelie de Forest (2013 winner), Nicole (1982 winner), Lordi (2006 winner), The Herreys (who won the contest in 1984) and Natasha St-Pier who represented France in 2001. More acts will be confirmed and revealed over the coming weeks.

Jon Ola Sand, the Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, said, “Over the last 60 years, the Eurovision Song Contest has become a true European institution that has led the way in TV entertainment. We are delighted that the BBC is launching our diamond jubilee celebrations with this special event and that TV viewers from across Europe and beyond will also get to enjoy it too.”

The show will be broadcast soon after filming in the following nations: Australia (SBS), Austria (ORF), Belgium (VRT & RTBF), Bulgaria (BNT), Denmark (DR), Finland (YLE), France (France 2), Greece (NERIT), Iceland (RÚV), Ireland (RTÉ), Israel (IBA), Norway (NRK), Portugal (RTP), Romania (TVR), Russia (C1R), San Marino (SMRTV), Slovenia (RTVSLO), Sweden (SVT), Switzerland (SRF), Spain (RTVE) and the United Kingdom (BBC).

Tickets will be available to buy from 11.15 CET on February 6 on the BBC Eurovision page (for UK sales) and on (for international sales).

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!