Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 16, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

Danish broadcaster reveals national finalists for Denmark 2017!

Danish broadcaster reveals national finalists for Denmark 2017!
  • On January 20, 2017

 After having missed out on the Grand Final two years in a row, Danish national broadcaster DR is hoping the third time will be the charm for one of Thursday's ten revealed acts. 

The 2017 Melodi Grand Prix line-up includes X Factors winners, Eurovision back-up singers, and familiar MGP faces.

The 10 competing acts

1 'One'
Ida Una
By: Peter Bjørnskov og Lene Dissing

2 'Vesterbro'
Thomas Ring
By: Thomas Ring

3 'Color My World'
Rikke Skytte
By: Mads Løkkegaard, Joël Pagiël MacDonald, Mohamed Alitou og Laura Kloos

4 'Where I Am'
By: Anja Nissen, Angel Tupai og Michael D’Arcy

5 'Big Little Lies'
Calling Mercury
By: Thomas Sardorf, Rune Braager og Martin Luke Brown

6 'Smoke In My Eyes'
By: Kim Nowak-Zorde, Kasper Larsen, Hans Petersen, Ollie Marland og Phil Plested

René Machon
By: Astrid Cordes, Alexander Grandjean, Hans Petersen og Lars Andersen

8 'Northern Lights'
Sada Vidoo
By: Christoffer Lauridsen, Andreas Öhrn og Alessandra Günthardt

9 'Hurricane'
Jeanette Bonde
By: Jeanette Bonde, Alexander Grandjean, Jeppe Pilgaard Ulrichsen og Nermin Harambasic

10 'A.S.A.P.'
Johanna Beijbom
By: Peter Wallevik, Daniel Heløy Davidsen, Patrick Devine, Dimitri Stassos og Freja Jonsson Blomberg

The X Factor 

The names Thomas Ring and Anthony are familiar to Danish viewers of X Factor, as they have both won the show, in 2010 and 2014, respectively.

But the X Factor field isn't limited to just Denmark. The Danish Sada Vidoo, who identifies as a living doll, competed in the British version of X Factor last year. 

Back from previous years

Two of the competing artists return from previous years' Melodi Grand Prix. Australian-born Anja Nissen, who finished second last year with the song 'Never Alone,' is back with 'Where I Am.' 

René Machon is also a returning artist, having competed in 2015.

Euphoria winner in the line-up

A notable name competing this year is the Swedish Johanna Beijbom. In 2012, she was a part of the winning Swedish team in Baku, singing backup vocals for Loreen on 'Euphoria.'

Voting power given to Danish Eurovision fans

The professional jury has become a standard part of how the Danes select their entry for the Eurovision Song Contest, each year receiving 50 percent of the voting power and often disagreeing with the televote. 

But this year, the professional jury will not consist of industry professionals. Instead, five carefully selected Danish Eurovision fans, each with a unique approach to Eurovision, will receive voting power.

The fans were also given influence early in the 2017 process, being invited by DR to listen to submitted entries and allowing them to share their thoughts on which would do well in Kyiv. Several of the songs noted by the fans have ultimately made it to the final.

The 2017 edition of Melodi Grand Prix will air live from the Boxen Arena in Herning on February 25, hosted by Johannes Nymark and Annette Heick.

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!