Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 20, 2018

Scroll to top


Finland announces UMK hosts and jury

Finland announces UMK hosts and jury
Eric Nocito

After announcing the retention of UMK as their medium in choosing their representative for Eurovision 2014, Finland’s national broadcaster, YLE, revealed more details of their upcoming show.

UMK 2014 will feature hosts Anne Lainto and Ilkka “Ile” Uusivuori, well-known radio personalities who also hosted the previous year’s show.

Also, all four judges from 2013 will be returning as well:


  • Redrama (award-winning rapper, writer, producer)
  • Toni Wirtanen (musician, songwriter, leader of the rock band Apulanta)
  • Aija Puurtinen (singer, bass player of group Honey B. & T-Bones, chairperson for National Council for Music)
  • Tomi Saarinen (former Head of Music for the national radio channel YleX, now Head of Programmes)


Twelve acts will be selected to participate in the five semi-finals.  These twelve will be announced during a press conference on December 10.

The grand final will be broadcast live from Barona Areena in Espoo on February 1.  The winner will go on to represent Finland in the Eurovision Song Contest 2014 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!