Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 22, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

Introducing: The juries for Eurovision 2015!

Introducing: The juries for Eurovision 2015!
Iain Cameron

The juries that will decide 50% of the vote in this year’s Eurovision Song Contest have been preliminarily announced!

Since 2009, a jury panel in each country has existed in order to balance the voting to be as fair as possible.


The panelists are music industry professionals and their opinion will help decide the winner alongside you, the public, on May 23. The juries rank the entries in order based on several criteria: Hit potential, overall act, composition of the entry, and the performance.

The members of each jury watch the second dress rehearsal of each of the shows at the nation’s public broadcasting headquarters. This process must be notarized and it is possible for the jury to be inspected to dismiss any doubt over impartiality. If the results of several jury members are similar to a statistically impossible level then the result may be refused; this was the case in Georgia in 2014.


To be a member of the jury, you must meet the following conditions:

  1. Members of the jury must not have been part of the jury in the previous two years.
  2. Members of the jury must be aged of at least 16 on the day they vote.
  3. Members of the jury must not be employees of Participating Broadcasters.
  4. Members of the jury must pursue a profession in or related to the music industry.
  5. Members of the jury shall be citizens of the country they represent.
  6. No member of a jury shall be connected in any way with any of the participating songs entered and/or artists performing in the contest in such a way that they cannot vote in complete independence and impartiality.


Each jury must also have a reserve member available should a substitute be required. Of the juries this year, there are 237 confirmed to date (106:131 female to male ratio). There are 3 still awaiting appointment and some replacements being made before the semi-finals. The age range of all member is 17 (in both Israel and Sweden) to 86 (Slovenia) with the average age being 40.

The specific members comprising each jury can be found on the official Eurovision website here. There are a few names from previous years among them, including entrants from last year’s contest e.g. Cleo (Poland 2014), Ruth Lorenzo (Spain 2014) and Tinkara Kovac (Slovenia 2014).


Who would get your douze point if you were a jury member? Let us know below!

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!