Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 23, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

Joe and Jake will represent the United Kingdom in Eurovision 2016!

Joe and Jake will represent the United Kingdom in Eurovision 2016!
Alvaro Sanabria

Friday night, Joe & Jake won the televoting of Eurovision: You Decide, the national selection used by BBC to select the United Kingdom’s act for the Eurovision Song Contest 2016.

The duo performed their song “You’re Not Alone” and will now wave the British flag in Stockholm.


From The Voice to Eurovision

Before Eurovision: You Decide, both Joe Woolford and Jake Shakeshaft participated in The Voice UK 2015. They both made it through the blind auditions in the UK version of the music show.  Joe made it all the way to the semi-finals of the show, while Jake was eliminated at the knockout stage and could not make it to the live shows.




The Show

Eurovision: You Decide was hosted by Mel Giedroyc, with six acts competing to represent the United Kingdom. The acts were internally selected by the national broadcaster, with the help of the OGAE UK and the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA).

During the show, there was a special tribute dedicated to Sir Terry Wogan, the BBC commentator on radio and television between 1971 and 2008 of the Eurovision Song Contest and co-presenter of the 1998 Eurovision Song Contest.

The winner of the 2015 song contest, Måns Zelmerlöw and Katrina, the last UK winner of the Eurovision Song Contest in 1997, also performed during the show.


The line-up

This was the running order of the acts during the show (songwriters in brackets):

  1. Dulcima – When You Go (Tomas Twyman)
  2. Matthew James – A Better Man (Helienne Lindvall, Andrew Fromm & Peter Kvint)
  3. Darline – Until Tomorrow (Roy Stride, Joshua Wilkinson, Duck Blackwell & Jack McManus)
  4. Karl William Lund – Miracle (Karl William Lund)
  5. Bianca – Shine A Little Light (Ash Howes, Cass Lowe, Leona Lewis & Richard Stannard)
  6. Joe and Jake – You’re Not Alone (Schwartz, Justin J Benson and S Kanes)


The panel

Although the winner was decided entirely by the televoting, an expert panel commented on the entries during the show.

Carrie Grant (UK, 1983) said that Joe & Jake “would attract a lot of young fans” while Katrina (UK 1997) said that she could not get the song out of her head. The third panel member, choreographer Jay Revell, also commented that the UK’s entry had an “absolutely awesome stage presence.”

Joe & Jake will represent the UK in Stockholm with the song “You’re Not Alone.”



Photo: Iain Cameron

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!