Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 23, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

Malta: 49 acts revealed in shortlist for semi-final

Malta: 49 acts revealed in shortlist for semi-final
Alvaro Sanabria

153 acts submitted their songs to represent Malta in the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest to be held in Stockholm, but only 49 will participate in the next stage of the Maltese selection.

The national broadcaster PBS has published the list of 49 songs that will have to compete for a place in the semi-final.


The 49 songs

Among the competing acts we find previous contestants from the national final, as well as two previous Maltese representatives (Ira Losco – Malta 2002 and Daniel Testa – Junior Eurovision 2008).

These are the shortlisted songs that have been selected by PBS:

96 – Francesca Bonnano
Alive – Jasmine Abela
All Around The World – Deborah C
Bare Your Soul – Chaya Fenech
Battle Zone – Kurt Cassar
Beautiful – Lyndsey Pace
Brave – Andre Curmi (Dre)
Breaking Point – Cherylis & Mikhail
Breathe – Cherylis
Can’t Let Go – Jessika
Castle – Danica Muscat
Chameleon (Invincible) – Ira Losco
Dancing In The Rain – Francesca Borg
Empty Hearted – Domenique Azzopardi
Exceptional – Jean Claude Azzopardi
Falling Glass – Corazon (Mizzi)
Feeling Alive – Kelly Ann Mintoff
Fire Burn – Dominic
Fireworks – Iona
Flashing Lights – Raquel Galdes
Flawless – Franklin Calleja
Frontline – Danica Muscat
Go Beyond The Shore – Paul Cushieri
Golden – Brooke
Gone – Nazjo Rotin
Higher – Q
Hush Hush – Jessika
I Love You – Dario Mifsud Bonnici
I Won’t Surrender – Franklin Calleja
Kingdom – Christabelle Borg
Light Up My Life – Stefan Galea
Lighthouse – Kimberley Cortis
Little Love – Franklin Calleja
MI-MI-MIND – Neville Refalo
Paper Boats – Joseph Portelli
Reaching – Panama Band- Simaria
Right Here With You – Sarah Crystal
Rule The World – Aidan Cassar
Someday – Klinsmanc Coleiro
Tell Me What You Wanna Do – Julienne Liberto
That’s Why I Love You – Ira Losco
The Flame – Jessika
Tonight – Kyle Mangani & Maxine Pace
Under The Sun – Daniel Testa
Victory – Amy Agius
Without You – Kaya
Young Love – Maxine Pace
Your Kiss – Malcom
You’re Beautiful – Laurence Gray


The selection process

49 acts are competing, but only 20 of them will get a place in the live semi-final.  The 20 semi-finalists will perform on January 22, where 14 songs will move on to the final on January 23.


Amber represented Malta in the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest.  However, she failed to qualify from the semi-final:


Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!