Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | December 17, 2017

Scroll to top



Sanna Nielsen finally wins Melodifestivalen and represents Sweden!

Sanna Nielsen finally wins Melodifestivalen and represents Sweden!
  • On March 8, 2014

After five weeks and 32 songs, 10 songs made it to the big final at the Friends Arena in Stockholm.

In the end, after both the Swedish public and the international juries had their say, Sanna Nielsen took the victory and will represent Sweden at the Eurovision Song Contest 2014 in Copenhagen, Denmark!


Tonight’s line-up:

1. Natural – Anton Ewald
2. Songbird – Ellen Benediktson
3. Blame It On The Disco – Alcazar
4. Yes We Can – Oscar Zia
5. Bröder – Linus Svenning
6. Survivor – Helena Paparizou
7. To The End – YOHIO
8. Undo – Sanna Nielsen
9. Efter Solsken – Panetoz
10. Busy Doin’ Nothin’ – Ace Wilder


Ace Wilder wins the jury vote

The jury, accounting for 50 % of the result or 473 points, handed out their verdict first. The voting of the 11 juries saw Sanna Nielsen battle Ace Wilder and Alcazar for first place. Once added up, Ace Wilder won the jury vote with 97 points, followed by Sanna Nielsen with 90 points, and Alcazar with 60 points.

Melodifestivalen jury votes 620


Sanna Nielsen wins the televote and Melodifestivalen

Then, the votes of the Swedish people were revealed. They showed the same people in the top 3. 10,1 % of the votes went to Alcazar, 23,8 % of the votes went to Ace Wilder, while Sanna Nielsen won the televote with 25,8 %, narrowly winning the total score with 212 points over Ace Wilder’s 210.

This was Sanna Nielsen’s seventh time in the Swedish final and her first victory.




Sweden will perform in the first half of the first semi-final, as determined by the allocation draw in Copenhagen.


Photos: Olle Kirchmeier / SVT

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!