Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 16, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

Second half of Melodifestivalen revealed - Comebacks and reunion!

Second half of Melodifestivalen revealed – Comebacks and reunion!
  • On November 28, 2013

Just a few hours ago, the second half of next year’s edition of the Swedish selection show Melodifestivalen was revealed. The third and fourth semi-finals are full of familiar Melodifestivalen faces and even a reunion.



Familiar names and a star of the 90’s

The third semi-final will kick off on February 15 in the second largest city in Sweden:  Göteborg. The group State of Drama participated last year and while they made it to the final, they came 9th out of 10 songs. Now they are trying again with the song “All We Are.”

Another familiar face is Shirley Clamp, who has participated four times in the competition previously. We last saw her in 2011 when she competed with the group Shirley’s Angels. She enters as a solo artist this year with the song “Burning Alive,” which may get a Swedish title.

2014 is also the year that will finally see Dr. Alban take part after being rumored for years. The Nigerian-born Swede had a string of hits in the 90’s, with the song “It’s My Life” being his most famous. He will compete with the song “Around The World,” with Jessica Folcker as a featured artist.

Also worth noting is that the songwriting team Joy Deb and Linnéa Deb, who were part of the team that created last year’s Melodifestivalen winner “You,” have a hand in three songs in the third semi-final.


Full line up of semi-final 3:

• All We Are
Artist: State of Drama
Låtskrivare: Göran Werner, Sanken Sandqvist, Emil Gullhamn, Sebastian Hallifax

• Around the World
Artist: dr. alban & Jessica Folcker
Låtskrivare: dr. alban, Jakke Erixson, Karl-Ola Kjellholm

• Burning Alive (Obs! kommer eventuellt få svensk titel och text)
Artist: Shirley Clamp
Låtskrivare: Bobby Ljunggren, Marcos Ubeda, Sharon Vaughn, Henrik Wikström

• Busy Doin’ Nothin’
Artist: Ace Wilder
Låtskrivare: Ace Wilder, Joy Deb, Linnéa Deb

• Echo
Artist: Outtrigger
Låtskrivare: Joy Deb, Linnéa Deb, Anton Malmberg Hård Af Segerstad

• En enkel sång
Artist: CajsaStina Åkerström
Låtskrivare: CajsaStina Åkerström

• Red
Artist: EKO
Låtskrivare: Linnéa Deb, Joy Deb, Anna Lidman, Hannes Lundberg, Michael Ottosson

• Yes We Can
Artist: Oscar Zia
Låtskrivare: Fredrik Kempe, David Kreuger, Hamed “K-One” Pirouzpanah


Returning and reuniting

The fourth and last semi-final, to air from Örnsköldsvik on February 22, features two names from last year’s show. Anton Ewald returns, after coming fourth in the final, and will compete with the song “Natural.” Janet Leon also returns, after being eliminated from her semi-final last year. She tries again with the song “Hollow.”

Linda Bengtzing is also back, competing for the fifth time. She last entered in 2011, where she reached the final and came 7th. She will try again with the song “Ta Mig.”

Perhaps the biggest surprise is the return and reunification of the group Alcazar. They have taken part four times in Melodifestivalen previously and are hugely popular with the fan crowd. They last participated in 2010 and disbanded in 2011. Now they are back with the song “Blame It On The Disco.”


Full line up of semi-final 4:

• Blame It On The Disco
Artist: Alcazar
Låtskrivare: Fredrik Kempe, David Kreuger, Hamed “K-One” Pirouzpanah

• En himmelsk sång
Artist: Ellinore Holmer
Låtskrivare: Ellinore Holmer, Vanna Rosenberg, Åsa Schmalenbach, Josefina Sanner, Henrik Wikström, Amir Aly

• Fight Me If You Dare
Artist: I.D.A
Låtskrivare: Albin Nicklasson, Nicklas Laine, Louise Frick Sveen

• Hela natten
Artist: Josef Johansson
Låtskrivare: Peter Boström, Thomas G:son, Josef Johansson, Peo Thyrén

• Hollow
Artist: Janet Leon
Låtskrivare: Karl-Ola Kjellholm, Jimmy Jansson, Louise Winter

• Natural
Artist: Anton Ewald
Låtskrivare: John Lundvik

• Raise Your Hands
Artist: Ammotrack
Låtskrivare: Jari Kujansuu, Thomas Johansson, Calle Kindbom, Mikael de Bruin

• Ta mig
Artist: Linda Bengtzing
Låtskrivare: Nicke Borg, Jojo Borg Larsson


The lists are in alphabetical order and the running orders will be decided later.

The artists of the first and second semi-finals were revealed Tuesday. You can read all about them by clicking here.


Source: SVT

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!