Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 20, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

Pots for 2016 semi-final allocation draw revealed

Pots for 2016 semi-final allocation draw revealed

| On 21, Jan 2016

Prior to Monday’s semi-final allocation draw at Stockholm city hall, which will determine in which halves of which semi-final the countries will perform, the preselected pots have been revealed.


Preselected pots against neighbor voting

The preselected pots are created based on the countries’ past voting patterns, in order to split nations that traditionally vote for each other, creating a fairer contest, according to the EBU. As evident below, the countries are more or less close to each other geographically, coining the term “neighbor voting.”

Interestingly, Australia, which has never participated in a semi-final, has been placed in pot 4.


Pot 1

  • Albania
  • Macedonia
  • Montenegro
  • Slovenia
  • Croatia
  • Serbia
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina

Pot 2

  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Estonia
  • Latvia

Pot 3

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Georgia
  • Russia
  • Ukraine

Pot 4

  • Belgium
  • Cyprus
  • Greece
  • Australia
  • The Netherlands
  • Bulgaria

Pot 5

  • Czech Republic
  • Lithuania
  • Ireland
  • Malta
  • Poland
  • San Marino

Pot 6

  • Austria
  • Hungary
  • Israel (pre-assigned to the second Semi-Final)
  • Moldova
  • Romania
  • Switzerland



The insignia exchange

The event will be hosted by Alexandra Pascalidou and Jovan Radomir of SVT.

In the insignia exchange ceremony, the traditional ceremony where the Eurovision hosting rights are officially handed over, Executive City Councillor for Cultural Affairs of the City of Vienna, Dr. Andreas Mailath-Pokorny, will hand over the insignia to the mayor of Stockholm, Karin Wanngård.


The allocation draw details

The allocation draw will start off with drawings for the Big 5 and the host country, determining which semi-final they will have to broadcast and have voting rights for. Germany has already requested to broadcast and vote in the second semi-final, while Israel has requested to perform in the second semi-final due to their Memorial Day on the day of the first semi-final. Both requests have been approved by the Reference Group.

The following draws will determine in which halves of which semi-finals the remaining 37 countries will participate. It has been decided that semi-final 1 will have 18 countries, while semi-final 2 will have 19. The final running order will once again be decided by the producers, as originally started by Sweden in Malmö.

Ten countries will qualify to the Grand Final from each semi-final, totaling 26.


The 2016 theme

Another exciting reveal will take place on Monday, as SVT unveils the slogan and theme artwork for Stockholm’s Eurovision Song Contest.

In Malmö, the contest united under a diverse butterfly and the slogan “We Are One.”


The semi-final allocation draw and insignia exchange ceremony starts this Monday, at 11:15 CET, and can be streamed on both and SVTPlay.

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!