Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 22, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

Spain to select for Eurovision 2016 on February 1

Spain to select for Eurovision 2016 on February 1
  • On January 19, 2016

The Spanish national broadcaster TVE has announced that the country will select its representative for the Eurovision Song Contest 2016 on February 1, in a special TV-show called Objetivo Eurovisión.

The names of the six songs, along with snippets, were also revealed with the announcement.


The six artists and songs

  • Xuso Jones “Victorious”
  • Salvador Beltran“Días de alegría” (Days of joy)
  • Maverick“Un mundo más feliz (A happier world)”
  • Maria Isabel“La vida sólo es una” (There’s only one life)
  • Electric Nana “Now”
  • Barei“Say Yay!”

While the artists were previously announced, the song names are now available, along with 30 second samples of each of the entries. Full versions will be available tomorrow, January 20, at 17:00 CET.

Listen to the samples!


Singing in Spanish

After several of the songs were submitted entirely in English, it came as quite a surprise to a few of the artists when TVE asked them to make sure that at least portions of their songs were sung in Spanish.

While some of the artists felt it was a good idea to represent the culture of the country, others were bothered that TVE did not think of how most winning Eurovision songs are fully in English.


Spain will select its entry for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest on February 1, using both a national and international jury, along with a televote.

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!