Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 23, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

Summary of Eurovision 2015's Heads of Delegations Meeting!

Summary of Eurovision 2015’s Heads of Delegations Meeting!
Iain Cameron

The Heads of Delegations meeting took place in Vienna yesterday and each country officially submitted their entry for the 2015 contest!

Asides from handing in their respective entries, the head delegates from each nation got to know each other’s entries and received a tour of the Eurovision venues. Wiener Stadthalle will house the main contest (both semi-finals and the grand final) with Euroclub being hosted in Ottakringer Brauerei. They also took the opportunity to discuss their staging plans with the team at ORF ahead of the contest in May. It was announced that the basketball pitch will be home to the press conference centre and the handball pitch will act as the press centre. For accredited members of the press, there will be free public transport and museum access in Vienna.

There were a number of decisions made regarding the contest and are outlined below:


  • Preliminary dates have been decided for the 2016 contest although the host country will not be decided until May when they win Eurovision 2015. The three dates are May 10 and 12 for the semi-finals and May 14 for the grand final. These are subject to change at the discretion of the 2016 host broadcaster.
  • The artists for this year’s contest will enter the arena on a “magic bridge” of light.
  • Austria has drawn position 14 for the final. The winners of each semi-final will draw whether they will compete in the first or second half of the grand final after the press conference associated with their semi-final.
  • Vienna Rathauseplatz will be home to the Red Carpet Ceremony and also the Delegations’ Opening Party – taking place on May 17. The Eurovision Village will open next to this on May 18th
  • Questions around nations’ language choices were addressed: Romania will sing bilingually, Serbia will sing in English and Macedonia has also indicated they will sing in English.
  • Reference Group elections were held and the following people will join the committee for the next 2-year term: Nicola Caligiore (RAI), Alexander Radic (RTVSLO) and Emile Sickinghe (AVROTROS).


Photo credit: Hangweyrer

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!