Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 21, 2018

Scroll to top



Tonight: Denmark chooses its representative for Copenhagen!

Tonight: Denmark chooses its representative for Copenhagen!
  • On March 8, 2014

Tonight, the 10 contestants announced back in January will battle for victory in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2014, live from Odense!

The winner will win the unique opportunity of representing the host country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2014, in Copenhagen, Denmark.


The finalists in order of appearance (click song names to listen)

  1. Bryan Rice Choose You

    Songwriters: Lars Halvor Jensen, Johannes Jørgensen, Shanna Crooks

  2. Rebekka Thornbech Your Lies
    Songwriters: Danne Attlerud, Gustav Eurén, Niclas Arn
  3. Sonny Feeling The You
    Songwriters: Frederik Tao Nordsøe Schjoldan, Thomas Lumpkins
  4. Danni Elmo She’s The One
    Songwriters: Engelina, Alexander Brown, Søren Vestergaard, Marcus Linnet
  5. Emilie Moldow Vi finder hjem
    Songwriters: Engelina, Ole Brodersen, Kasper Larsen, Basim
  6. GlamboyP Right By Your Side
    Songwriters: Mathias Kallenberger, Andreas Berlin, Jasmine Anderson
  7. Nadia Malm Before You Forget Me
    Songwriters: Nadia Malm
  8. Basim Cliche Love Song
    Songwriters: Lasse Lindorff, Kim Nowak-Zorde, Daniel Fält, Basim
  9. Anna David It Hurts
    Songwriters: Anna David, Lasse Lindorff, Kim Nowak-Zorde, Jeremy Huffleman, Marli Harwood, Michael Harwood, Nick Keynes.
  10. Michael Rune feat. Natascha Bessez Wanna be Loved
    Songwriters: Lars Halvor Jensen, Martin Larsson, Luke Madden, Lemare Obika



Louise Wolff and Jacob Riising host the show

The show will be hosted by Louise Wolff and Jacob Riising, two experienced Melodi Grand Prix hosts.

Grand Prix hosts

Louise is no stranger to the national selection, having hosted the show twice before, also giving the Danish points in the Eurovision Song Contest 2012. Danish viewers know her as the regular host of the nightly DR talkshow “Aftenshowet,” as well as being a regular go-to host for TV-events of the channel. She has hosted end of the year shows, big charity shows, and other large events.

Jacob is no stranger to the younger audience of Denmark. He originally started at DR hosting a children’s radio show, and has since hosted a great deal of shows for children, including four editions of the Danish Junior Eurovision, MGP. He now graduates to the adult version.


Grand Prix legends perform 

There would be no Melodi Grand Prix without nostalgia, and tonight, several former participants visit to perform past songs. Among them are Rollo & King (Denmark 2001), though without Signe Svendsen, Kirsten Sigaard (Denmark 1984, 1985, 1988), and Birthe Kjær (Denmark 1989).



The jury

A jury consisting of five members will hold 50 percent of the power in the first round of voting. It consists of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix legend Jørgen “Mylle” de Mylius, producer Cutfather, producer Chief1, singer Søs Fenger, and singer Camille Jones.

  •  Jørgen “Mylle” de Mylius: Not a single Dane is unware of who Mylle is, having been part of the Danish selection for over 30 years as planner, host, and commentator.
  • Cutfather (Mich Hedin Hansen): Mostly known in Denmark for being an X Factor judge, Cutfather is an accomplished producer with several international hits to his name.
  • Chief1 (Lars Pedersen): Also a successful producer, Chief1 has participated at the Danish national selection as a songwriter several times, being a part of the team that created the 2012 winner “Should’ve Known Better” with Soluna Samay.
  • Søs Fenger: A highly successful singer/songwriter, Søs Fenger has been a part of the Danish music scene and culture for over 30 years. Back in 1982, she herself participated in the Danish selection.
  • Camille Jones: While Danish-American singer/songwriter Camille Jones received critical acclaim in Denmark back in 2001, she reached international success in 2007 with her single “The Creeps” which became a worldwide club hit once remixed by Fedde le Grand.

Once the 10 songs have been performed and the first voting round is over, the 10 will be cut to three. The voting opens again, with both the jury and the public deciding the final winner. Each will have 30 points to give.



What do the betting odds say?

Among the Danish betting agencies, there is no clear picture of a definite favorite to win the show. Between the four major Danish agencies, Bryan Rice, Anna David, Michael Rune feat. Natascha Bessez, Nadia Malm, and Rebekka Thornbech are all getting equally favoring betting odds.

In a field of 10 contestants, you might as well throw a coin into the air, making for a very exciting and unpredictable final!



The final of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix will air at 20:00 CET on DR1 and will be streamed online at DR’s website.


Click here to watch! <


Photos: DR

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!