Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ESC Reporter | January 23, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

Tonight is the Grand Final!

Tonight is the Grand Final!
Eric Nocito

The day has finally arrived.

The Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2013 broadcasts throughout the world tonight, live from Malmö.  Starting at 21:00 CET, the show will feature 26 countries fighting to be “Europe’s Favorite Song.”  The show can be watched on each country’s respective national channels, or at the live online stream at

The opening act will be a very unique and different experience from what Eurovision has seen in recent years.  First, there will be an opening sequence featuring the iconic Malmö butterfly of this year’s contest.  From then, a choir will sing a new Eurovision anthem, written by Avicii and Björn & Benny of ABBA, two of Sweden’s biggest artists ever. As the song progresses, all the contestants will walk to the stage on a bridge extending across the entire arena. Each country will be lead by a flagbearer, in order of their performances tonight.

Upon its conclusion, Petra Mede will announce the beginning of the show.  The final consists of the 20 qualifiers from the two semi-finals, the Big Five (Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK), and last year’s winner and host country, Sweden.  After the last country has performed, the televoting will begin and last for ten minutes.

While the voting takes placing and its subsequent tabulation, there will be three interval acts.

First off will be Loreen (Eurovision 2012 Winner) performing a medley, “We Got The Power,” “My Heart Is Refusing Me,” and her winning entry “Euphoria.”

Following, Petra Mede will perform a song-and-dance comedic routine called “Swedish Smörgåsbord,” offering the rest of Europe a different take on Swedish life.

And finally, just before the results come in, singer Sarah Dawn Finer (the person behind Lynda Woodruff, EBU’s not-so-official spokesperson) will perform a very special version of ABBA’s “The Winner Takes It All.”

Who will win tonight?  Only time will tell.

Help us grow!

Like and follow us at the following to stay updated!